Made With Serif WebPlus.                     All content of this website is © Shanklin & District History Society 2020

 Shanklin & District History Society

 Talks and Events


When and where


Except where noted, talks commence at 7.25pm at the Falcon Cross Hall, Shanklin, on the first Thursday of the month. Admission is free to members, please bring your membership card.


Provided seats are available visitors are very welcome on payment of £1. Members are admitted from 7.00pm and visitors from 7.15pm. Items from the Society’s archives are on display at each meeting.




Programme for 2020

There is no meeting in January 2020

Newsletter delivered to Members


Thursday 6th February

Roses and Refreshments

by Richard Smout


Thursday 5th March  

The Captive King - Charles I

by Rosemary Cooper


Thursday 9th April  date change  

The Changing Face of the High Street

by Brian Greening


Wednesday 6th May at 6 pm

Where Victorians & Edwardians

took their holidays in Shanklin

a walk led by Andrew Asher

A walk of about 2 hours covering a gentle

2 miles. Meet at the top of Shanklin Lift.


Saturday 9th May 10 am - 4 pm

200 Years of Shanklin History

1820 - 2020

an exhibition from the archives

plus the Brannon family and Shanklin,

‘Who lived in Your House’, displays by Shanklin

artists and books and postcards for sale


Thursday 14th May date change

Life in a Roman Villa

by Ann Evans


Thursday 4th June

Film and TV History of the IoW

by Marc Luis Earp


Thursday 2nd July

Impressions of our Island

- the cycling craze and an

artist’s sketches of 1920s

beach holidays on the Island

by Bob Longton


There is no meeting in August 2020

Newsletter and AGM Papers delivered

to Members


Thursday 3rd September

Annual General Meeting

and a presentation from

the S&DHS Archives

by Terry Nigh and Andrew Asher


Thursday 1st October

Marconi on the IoW

by Tim Wander


Thursday 5th November

The Life and Times

of Winchester House, Shanklin

By Sammantha Cave


Thursday 3rd December

My Varied Life

by Vic Farrow